Planning Commission

In our municipality’s government, there are a handful of dedicated resident volunteers who play a vital role in shaping the future of land use for Upper Macungie Township. The seven members of the Upper Macungie Township Planning Commission meet on a regular basis to review plans for subdivision and land development. They take an analytical look at the potential pitfalls or benefits of land use plans submitted by developers and, as a body, reach a consensus on how new plans will impact the infrastructure and the quality of life for the residents of Upper Macungie Township. After in-depth review and discussion, the members of the Planning Commission then make a recommendation to the UMT Board of Supervisors for approval, adaption or rejection of submitted plans.

Upper Macungie Township Planning Commission meetings are held the 3rd Wednesday of the month at 7:00 PM, are open to the public and all township residents are encouraged to attend. Planning Commission Work Sessions are held the Monday prior to the meeting at 7:00 PM and are subject to the same stipulations. We thank our Planning Commission Members for dedicating many hours of knowledgeable service to uphold the best interests of Upper Macungie Township and our citizens.

The Upper Macungie Township Planning Commission consists of seven members appointed for four year terms. Current Members include:
Charlies Deprill, Chairman
Paul McNemar, Vice-Chairman
Makala A. Ashmar, Secretary
Kim Snelling
Tim Helmer
Chris Walls 
Mike Werst

Please contact Daren Martocci, Director of Community Development, with any questions pertaining to the planning approval process or upcoming agendas.

Current Planning Commission Agendas can be found here;

Below you will find a link to the Upper Macungie Township Subdivision and Land Development Ordinance in Adobe Acrobat format. Be aware, the Subdivision and Land Ordinance is a large file and may take some time to fully download over slower Internet connections.

Subdivision and Land Development Forms: